Communicate by listening.

Good morning,

I hope everyone is having a great Wednesday morning. The sun is shining and it’s a beautiful day.  Today is another opportunity to make it a great day.  Our morning started very early with our son having a nightmare and ended up getting in our bed.   I was so tired that I didn’t even take him back to his room.   My son is a very active sleeper, he is constantly moving in his sleep.  It becomes very hard to share a bed with him.   He woke up this morning and he said he didn’t get enough sleep.   I should have realized that he was telling me that he was not going to be very cooperative this morning.  It would have been easier for me to deal with him today if I really paid attention to him when he said it to me.  Wouldn’t it be awesome if we as humans would communicate with people the same way?  Every time you would talk to someone you would tell them upfront the way you were actually feeling.   Something like the following,”You know what I’m a little tired today, so I’m lacking patience and I’m not as aware of things, so please be patient with me. Wouldn’t communication between people just become better if we just have a little bit more compassion for what’s going on with them?

cc3169e0259e6d9775a0c285676147ba--behavior-quotes-communication-quotes

These days I try to put myself in other peoples shoes and be more understanding of others.   Especially everyone that I know that has young kids and works full time.   We all go through the day to find the energy to be the best we can be: the best employee, the best friend, the best parent, the best in finding balance.   Days become long filled with doing things, but remember to breathe and take moments to look up and appreciate all that you have.  I’m going to work on being a better listener so that I can become an even better communicator.  We need to be there for others, today be there for someone that needs your ear.  Life is about being there for others more than yourself.  Try it out and see how it makes you feel.  It may be a challenge but I feel that its a challenge that is worth trying.   BE GOOD TO ALL!!!

 

images (1)

Leave a comment